Pratinidhi Kahaniyan

20 01 2007

I was recetly home. And I picked some of my Fathers books. He practises a keen interest in Hindi literature and recommended his book..”Pratinidhi Kahaniyan” by Shri Jayshankar Prasad. For those of you who do not follow Hindi literature, Shri Jayshankar is a poet and novelist who writes in prose form Hindi of a very elite class. He has published Title,Kankaal and Iravati and no I have not read them myself. I need my father to explain the prose form Hindi when I read it. All by myself I would not understand half of it.

Anyway, so talking about the collection of his short stories which I am reading currently, the focus lies mainly on the comtemporary problems of the Indian society in late eigthteenth and early nineteeth century. It is just an urge to translate some of his stories into english. Having said this, I am not qualified to translate the stories of this acclaimed writer, so will call them narrations in the posts to come….


Actions

Information

12 responses

21 01 2007
Anirban

It will be interesting to read the narrations. Except for my course books I have not read any good literary works in Hindi.
You have got one reader waiting, post soon.

21 01 2007
Manas

I read some excerpts from Kamayani and it was mesmerising….so am very much interested in reading his other works..albeit in translated form..

21 01 2007
Sivakumar Sethuraman

prakriti – I did my Sahitya Ratha research in Kamayini and I simply fell in love with Jayshankar Prasad.. Of all the great writers of modern Hindi lit, I think Prasad and Harivamsharay Bachchan are simply the best.

22 01 2007
Anonymous

@Siva..
I have been reading the short stories and its and urge to do a rendition.. I hope I can come up with something soon..Kamayani is really one of his best works from what I hear..

22 01 2007
Anonymous

@Siva..
I have been reading the short stories and its an \urge to do a rendition.. I hope I can come up with something soon..Kamayani is really one of his best works from what I hear..

22 01 2007
Sivakumar Sethuraman

Waiting for your renditions.. all the best. Kamayini is scintillating. I tried my hand in churning some of the verses in Tamil, but I am not knowledgeable enough in either one of the languages to do so.. It is very important that the essence of such masterpieces dont remain confined only to the mother language.

22 01 2007
Apurva

Siva.. Kamayini is fascinating… cant forget “Himgiri ki Uttung Shikhar par ..baith shila ki sheetal chhaon.. ” ..
Find more of Jaishankar Prasad’s illustrious poetries, (that too in hindi script)
http://www.anubhuti-hindi.org/gauravgram/prasad/himadri.htm

Prakriti… Nice posts.. will bookamark this link… chk out http://www.anubhuti-hindi.org/ … good for hindi lovers..
(no… dont think that I’m an agent of that website) … 😉 …

29 01 2007
prakriti

@apurva : liked the link u gave.. u l find it in my blog roll ‘hall of fame’..

8 04 2007
Rob ten Berge

VITRUVIAN MAN (animation)=

http://members.home.nl/robtenberge/schema/animatie.html

Namasté
Rob

16 02 2008
28 05 2008
a

do u know any national stories by Jayashankar Prasad

5 01 2015
Xavier

Hi, you post interesting content on your site, you
can get much more visits, just type in google for – augo’s tube traffic

Leave a comment